Saturday, September 21, 2013

Copy Cat


Copy cat recipes, I don’t fully understand them. When I go to a restaurant yes, the food is good. But it is very rarely because I can’t make food as good as they can. It’s because I don’t want to cook. I don’t want to clean. I want to order my food and usually I want to have some nice college kid bring it to my table and keep my glass full of Pepsi. Usually, a copy cat recipe is a truck load of ingredients that I don’t typically keep around the house, so that requires shopping and also spending. And also figuring out what the heck a ripe tomatillo is supposed to look like cuz I’m pretty sure, I chose wrong. Copy cat recipes, in my experience, are usually just lots of work, lots of ingredients, and sometimes, lots of heartache, over something that tastes not quite as good as what I could have gotten for ten bucks and a 15 minute car drive.

I live in a fairly large metropolitan city. One may go so far as to say very large. So there’s not much I can’t get behind the wheel of my car and go get. Maybe that’s one reason I don’t fully understand the allure of the copy cat recipe. Some people LOVE Cracker Barrel’s cheesy potatoes. Personally, I like mine better but that’s beside the point. Once upon a time, the nearest Cracker Barrel was a 4 hour car ride away. Now it’s 20 minutes maybe 30 in traffic. And some mystery cook prepares them where I cannot see them or the mess they’re making and a nice person with gold stars of awesomeness embroidered on their aprons brings them to me from the mystery place and refills my Pepsi and they taste infinitely better because I don’t resent the potatoes for being a lot of work.

Recently, I found myself with a little over a pound of pork shoulder in my freezer and I was trying to think of things to do with it when I remembered this little site I had pinned on Pinterest. Strangely enough, I found this website completely separate of the fact that I know the family responsible for it. We went to the same church, I babysat one of their kids. Isn’t the internet funny like that? I didn’t know they had a blog of deliciousness but there they were. Hi guys!

Anyway, I digress.

I had pork. I needed dinner. I decided to go try copy cat Café Rio pork. In spite of the fact that there is a brand new Café Rio, less than 10 minutes away from my house. It looked easy enough, and I already had the roast! I had to go to the store for almost everything else but that doesn’t matter right?

The night before I was going to wow myself and handsome with this deliciousness, we got pretty absorbed in Lego Lord of the Rings and ended up staying up til like 1 am battling Lego Orc’s and I completely forgot to put the roast in to marinade. So when Pumpkin Pie woke up at 4, strange that infants don’t have an on off switch isn’t it? I fed her, got her back to sleep, and proceeded to throw together my marinade, and clean the kitchen while I was at it. I mean, I was already awake so why not? Actually, I’d had a doozy of a nightmare and wasn’t excited about going back to sleep. So I put a still mostly frozen pork shoulder in a bag with some Pepsi, and brown sugar and went back to bed.

We woke up the next morning, I transferred the roast to the crock pot with some more Pepsi and water and set it on high, and we went to church. When we got home the crock pot was still cold. I don’t know what had happened, either the circuit was tripped, or something was wrong with the switch on the crock pot and it didn’t realize it had a task to fulfill. Anyway, it was no closer to being food than it had been that morning and I was frustrated, and sleep deprived. But Handsome talked me down, I plugged the crock pot into a different outlet and dinner was on again!

Then came the waiting, and the shredding, and the adding more sauce and cooking some more. Remember when I mentioned they were a lot of work? And I didn’t want to stop at pork. I wanted, cilantro lime rice, and genuine Café Rio black beans, and homemade tortillas, and the whole works. By this time I was really tired, and tender from my nightmare (another story entirely) and had another hour or so of cooking in front me but I was determined. I put together my tortilla dough and they turned into basically pie crust. They were nowhere near round, the edges looked tattered and torn and I couldn’t roll them thin enough. So I asked Handsome to get tortillas. I would not be deterred! And then I tossed some crushed garlic into a frying pan and it quickly turned to cinders. That did it for me. I cried at Handsome for awhile then packed up what was supposed to be dinner and walked away from it all.

When we did eat our Faux Café Rio I must admit it was pretty delicious and Handsome said it could go in the favorites box so I’ll be trying it again. I think I’ll skip the marinating and maybe even the slow cooking in the Pepsi part. I’ll just cook the roast, shred it, and add the sauce then let it cook and get all stewed together. In doing things the hard way, I figured out some short cuts so hopefully next time I won’t cry. And next time, I’ll write up everything I do differently so if you don’t want to do the things the tear filled heart broken way, you’ll have another option.

After harping on Copy Cat recipes for an entire post, I feel like I should leave you with a good one. This is easy and tasty and pretty much fool proof. Enjoy.


Tony Roma’s Baked Potato Soup

Soup

2 medium potatoes (about 2 cups chopped)

3 tablespoons butter

1 cup diced white onion

2 tablespoons flour

4 cups chicken stock

2 cups water

1/4 cup cornstarch

1 1/2 cups instant mashed potatoes

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon basil

1/8 teaspoon thyme

l cup half and half

Garnish

1/2 Cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup crumbled cooked bacon

2 green onions, chopped (qreen part only)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and bake the potatoes or 1 hour or until done. When potatoes have Cooked remove them from the oven to cool.

2. As potatoes Cool prepare soup by melting butter in a large saucepan, and sauté onion until light brown. Add the flour to the onions and stir to make a roux.

3. Add stock, water, cornstarch, mashed potatoes, and spices to the pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.

4. Cut potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out contents with a large spoon. Discard skin. Chop baked potato with a large knife to make chunks that are about ½ inch in size.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Mama Makes: Bourbon Chicken and Chocolate Chip Cookies

I found this little gem on Pinterest a while ago and we here at OBW really like it. I like it because I pretty much always have all the ingredients on hand. No running to the store. The only thing I'm sometimes missing is apple juice and I'm pretty sure that as Pumpkin Pie gets older, that won't be a problem.

You start by cutting three chicken breasts into bite sized pieces. You're looking for a little over a pound of chicken bites.

You can decide what bite sized is. You might have a freakishly large mouth. I don't know your life.

Then lightly coat the chicken bites with cornstarch. If you get too crazy with the cornstarch your end product will be gloopy. You don't want gloopy. You want delicious. Not that they're mutually exclusive... just lightly ok? You'll thank me later.

Throw your lightly dusted chicken bites in a frying pan or wok with a couple tablespoons of oil. Vegetable, canola, whatever. I won't judge your oil choice if you don't judge me for eating half a dozen cookies for breakfast.  You're looking for lightly browned. You don't have to cook them completely because they'll get cooked more in a minute. Calm down!

Remove chicken from oil and drain on paper towels. Like this!

 

While your chicken is browning, mix up the following plethora of ingredients in a small bowl. But don't let your bites burn. Nobody likes burned bites.

1 garlic clove (minced)
1/4 teaspoon ginger (I use ground cuz it's on my spice rack. Fresh might be good too)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (it's not spicy. If you like spicy add more)
1/4 cup apple juice
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup soy sauce

Pour this tasty juice into the hot skillet (with the oil from chicken frying) and bring to a boil.

Add the chicken back to the pan. Reduce heat, cover, and let simmer for 10 minutes. Don't stir, don't poke, don't bother it. Just let it luxuriate.


 
The sauce reduces and gets delicious. The chicken soaks up all the goodness. Magic happens. After 10 minutes dump the whole delicious brew over some rice or quinoa (snob :)) and chow down. I serve with green beans but do what you want. You're a grown up.
 
Here's a picture of the finished product!
 
 
Oh... uhm... Sorry about that. It was too good to wait for picture time.
 
And now, chocolate chip cookie time. This is like super top secret k? Don't go blabbing my secret recipe to just anybody. I'm telling you cuz we're friends. I hope I won't regret this later.
 
2 1/2 ish cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 stick butter and 1 stick margarine softened OR 2 sticks butter. Don't use 2 sticks margarine. Gross.
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large eggs
1 bag chocolate chips
 
I know it's a whole lot like that super popular recipe EVERYBODY uses but there are a few tiny differences.

Mix together the butter, sugars, and vanilla in a large bowl. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition til they're all incorporated and your batter is fluffy. Next, add the baking soda and salt and give that a quick stir. I don't do that whole "mix the dry ingredients in a bowl then the wet ingredients in another bowl" thing.

Say no to extra dishes. That's my motto, yessirmaamsir!

Add the flour to your batter and combine thoroughly. That other recipe calls for 2 1/4 cups flour. I use a little more than 2 1/2. You're offsetting the extra egg and giving the dough a little more body so that your cookie stays a little thicker and has a little better chew.

Scoop onto ungreased cookie sheets using your favoritest scooping method. I have a handy little cookie scoop that makes me glad to be alive.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 8-10 minutes. Or if you want them to be perfect and you have way more time and patience than I do, preheat the oven to 375, put the cookies in, then turn it down to 350 and bake for 8 minutes. If your oven is like my oven, these will be perfect. If you don't want to do all that silliness. Leave it at 350 and  bake for like 8.5-9 minutes. They will be slightly less perfect but no one has to know but us. Leave on the cookie sheet for about two minutes, then transfer to cooling racks.

Try not to eat them all in one sitting.

Did you guys have a lovely labor day? We went to the Mesa flea market and wandered around for a couple hours then had lunch at Nielsen's Frozen Custard on Saturday. I have to admit, I'm not terribly impressed with Nielsen's food but man do I loves me some frozen custard, especially lemon. And they have fry sauce! Who doesn't love fry sauce? Only people who haven't tried fry sauce. And my husband. Weirdo. Monday we ran errands, visited some book stores, and came home to relax. Handsome played with his records, Pumpkin Pie slept from 4 pm to 6 am the next day, and I did some crapbooking. Yes you read that right. It's scrapbooking for people that suck at it. What'd you do?